The U.S. Embassy in Tajikistan will provide visa services to Afghan, Iranian, and Russian nationals


The United States Embassy in Tajikistan has announced that nationals of Afghanistan, Russia, Iran, Uzbekistan and other countries may obtain nonimmigrant visas to visit the United States. United from Dushanbe, the capital of Tajikistan.

According to a post on the embassy’s official Facebook page, visa issuance began in November and is expected to continue through December, January and February.

Russian, Uzbek, Afghan, Iranian and other non-resident nationals can apply for a nonimmigrant visa at the U.S. Embassy in Dushanbe, according to the U.S. Embassy statement.

Iranians also cannot receive U.S. nonimmigrant visas in Iran due to the fact that the U.S. and Iran have severed diplomatic relations, meaning there is no embassy. American in Iran and likewise, there is no Iranian embassy in the United States.

Due to the Russian government’s April 23 statement prohibiting the U.S. Embassy in Russia from hiring foreign nationals in any capacity, the U.S. Mission in Russia no longer provides non-diplomatic visa services.

Russian nationals can still make an appointment to apply for nonimmigrant visas at any U.S. embassy or consulate where they can get an appointment.

This comes as after the fall of Kabul, the capital of Afghanistan, to the Taliban, the US embassy in Afghanistan was closed and its operations are now managed from outside the country, in Doha. , the capital of Qatar.


Comments are closed.